Despite Arizona’s strict DUI laws, driving under the influence is still one of the most prevalent offenses across the state. Unfortunately, a DUI conviction can have life-changing implications, including hefty monetary fines, license suspension or revocation, and imprisonment. Arizona law may also require you to enroll in an alcohol education or treatment program.
By becoming part of your record, a DUI conviction also has collateral implications, including reducing your job and housing opportunities. You may never be able to seek employment in some industries. A DUI arrest and conviction are costly, and the unfortunate mistake could derail your life.
You risk hefty fines and potential imprisonment, among other life-long consequences of a DUI conviction. You need a skilled and experienced DUI lawyer to defend your rights
In Arizona, the court will charge you with a DUI offense for operating or being in physical control of a vehicle in any public place with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more. Your BAC should be less than 0.04% if driving a commercial vehicle. Arizona also has a zero-tolerance DUI policy for underage drivers.
The Arizona DUI laws also apply to people driving under the influence of drugs or other intoxicating substances. Arizona also has an implied consent law for anyone licensed to drive in Arizona. Consequently, when you apply for and accept driving privileges, you consent to a chemical test if a police officer arrests you on suspicion of driving under the influence. The chemical test can be a blood, breath, or urine test to determine your BAC or related drug content.
While you can refuse a chemical test, you risk a 12-month driving license suspension. However, you can get a restricted driver’s license after 90 days upon completing an alcohol or drug screening. The law may also require installing an ignition interlock in vehicles you drive. The arresting officer will inform you of the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test.
Different DUI charges attract different penalties depending on the nature of the offense and other related circumstances. However, every repeat offense increases the severity of a DUI penalty. Some of the most common Arizona DUI penalties include:
First offense DUI: Arizona classifies a first-offense DUI as a misdemeanor. Penalties include;
Second and subsequent offenses DUIs: Penalties include;
Extreme DUI: In Arizona, an extreme DUI includes driving with a BAC of 0.15% or more. These offenses attract more severe penalties. The penalties for a first offense involving an extreme DUI include;
Penalties for second and subsequent offenses involving extreme DUI include;
Aggravated DUI: Besides an Extreme DUI, Arizona also classifies some DUI offenses as aggravated DUI. These are DUI offenses that a person commits when having a revoked, suspended, or canceled driver’s license. A driver also commits an aggravated DUI if it is their third DUI in 84 months or if they commit the DUI while with a passenger younger than 15 years. Refusing to take a chemical test while under an ignition interlock device requirement is also an aggravated DUI.
Penalties for an aggravated DUI include;
Besides the inconvenience of losing your driving privileges, you risk hefty fines and potential imprisonment, among other life-long consequences of a DUI conviction. You need a skilled and experienced DUI lawyer to defend your rights, especially with strict and complicated Arizona DUI laws. If you are in Mesa, AZ, and facing a DUI charge, contact our trusted and well-qualified Arizona DUI lawyers at Dodge & Vega PLC. We are committed to aggressively defending your legal rights. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation and learn more about our services.